2013 Music Review

Best Artistic Achievement

James Blake - Overgrown

Album of the Year

Midlake - Antiphon

Most Insatiable Listening

Foxygen - We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace and Magic


Song of the Year

Palma Violets - Best of Friends

Artist of the Year

Bibio


I spent most of 2013 complaining.

      The past year not only seemed to yield very few solid albums, but also presented significant personal tragedies and disappointments for myself and everyone around me. As I reflect on it all, though, the things that are sticking in my memory are actually largely positive ones. I received incredible gifts this year, and with the help and support of the woman of my dreams, I focused my energy successfully into building Subtidal.

      Furthermore, of the nearly 500 albums and singles I listened to this year, I liked more of it than not. On my WRKR 2013 playlist, you'll hear only the songs and records that I really want to hear again. There were plenty more worth checking out, too, so I learned that I really should not judge too quickly.

 

Continue below for the runners up. Happy New Year, everyone.


Albums of the Year

Midlake - Antiphon

Radar Brothers - Eight

James Blake - Overgrown

Port St. Willow - Holiday

Rose Windows - The Sun Dogs

Foxygen - We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace and Magic

Lusine - The Waiting Room

Kurt Vile - Wakin On a Pretty Daze

Hooded Fang - Gravez

Emiliana Torrini - Tookah 

 

Artist of the Year

Bibio - Here's why:

Stephen Wilkinson, aka Bibio, creates music so fitting for today's cultural landscape that I'd call it perfect. His album this year, Silver Wilkinson, resonates with the ups and downs everyone seems to be experiencing lately, and the remixes he's done that were released this year (particularly of Clark) are the exact blend of experimental textures and compelling harmonies that I strive to create in my own music. But the main reason he's my Artist of 2013 is that I've spent more time with his entire catalog this year than with anyone else's; a reminder that in the last 5 years, no one has matched his gorgeous, prolific output. He'll be one of my favorites for a long time.

 

Best Artistic Achievements

James Blake - Overgrown

Jagwar Ma - Howlin

Bombino - Nomad

Young Man - Beyond Was All Around Me

Braids - Flourish//Perish

Son Lux - Lanterns

Cavern of Anti-Matter - Blood Drums

Kanye West - Yeezus

Jaimeo Brown - Transcendence

The Knife - Shaking the Habitual

 

Most Insatiable Listens

Foxygen - We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace and Magic

Superhumanoids - Exhibitionists

The Strokes - Comedown Machine

AlunaGeorge - Body Music

Daft Punk - Random Access Memories

Haim - Days Are Gone

Cults - Static

Wampire - Curiousity

Wavves - Afraid of Heights

Arctic Monkeys - AM

Unknown Mortal OrchestraII

 

Songs of the Year

Just check out the playlist here.


Write a comment

Comments: 0